Racial Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee

The Racial Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee develops strategies to promote awareness of diversity and foster greater equity and inclusion through active learning, collaborations, and community engagement. The Committee reviews the Commission’s data, Rules, policies, operations, and resources, and makes specific recommendations to promote equity and procedural justice. The Committee facilitates the Commission’s continuing efforts to cultivate a culture of mutual respect that educates, advocates, engages, and empowers members to be productive and socially responsible global citizens.  

This Committee is working to advance the initial recommendations from the ICJ Ad Hoc Committee on Racial Justice. 

2023 - 2024 Meeting Dates:

  • January 16, 2024 @ 2pm ET
  • February 20, 2024 @ 11:30am ET - meeting cancelled
  • March 19, 2024 @ 11:30am ET
  • April 16, 2024 @ 2pm ET - meeting cancelled
  • May 20, 2024 @ 2pm ET- meeting rescheduled from May 21
  • June 18, 2024 @ 2pm ET - meeting cancelled
  • July 16, 2024 @ 2pm ET


Sherry Jones

Commission Treasurer, Commissioner, Deputy Compact Administrator, UNITY Coordinator, Racial Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commission Chair, Maryland


Sherry Jones has more than 27 years of advocacy, education/training, prevention, beauty culture, formal/informal mentorship, policy development, management, leadership, and coaching. Sherry is currently the Interstate Commission for Juveniles' Treasurer, Maryland ICJ Commissioner, and Deputy Compact Administrator. She oversees the day-to-day operations of the Interstate Compact Unit and resolves discrepancies between State and local laws and ICJ Rules, policies, and procedures. Since 2009, Ms. Jones has been an active member of the Maryland Human Trafficking Task Force Victim Services Committee. In December 2017, she joined the Baltimore City Human Trafficking Collaborative and Public Awareness Committee. Ms. Jones is co-chair of the Baltimore City Human Trafficking Victims Services Committee. She worked as Maryland DJS Resource Specialist, Aftercare Counselor, and Probation Officer on the Female Intervention Team. Also, she's a Maryland Certified Adjunct Instructor, Sexual Assault Advocate, Victim Assistance Specialist, HIV Prevention Counselor, and Human Trafficking Trainer. 

Ms. Jones earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology from Coppin State University and an Associate degree in Early Childhood Education from Baltimore City Community College and Eldorado's Cosmetology School. She graduated from the inaugural Maryland Department of Juvenile Service Leadership and ICJ Commission for Juvenile Leadership Exchange Programs (2021). Ms. Jones is a 2019 graduate of the Towson University Women's Leadership Program and one of Maryland's Top 100 Women Honorees for her Professional Accomplishment, Community Leadership, and Mentoring (2021). In 2021, Ms. Jones founded the I Am Her "Teal Sand Project" to address the issue of Sexual Abuse and Exploitation of women, boys, and girls in her spare time through advocacy, education, and community engagements.

Vice Chair

Francis Casey

Commissioner, Delaware


Mike Casey is the Compact Administrator for the State of Delaware (ICPC, ICJ and ICAMA). Mike began his career in juvenile justice in 1990, serving for 12 years as a counselor in a residential care setting. Mike spent the following 15 years gaining extensive child welfare experience with the Division of Family Services as both a case manager and supervisor in the Adolescent Treatment/Permanency Unit. Mike joined the Interstate Compact Unit in 2017 and in 2020, was promoted to supervisor of the Liaison Services Team, which includes the Interstate Compact Unit and Statewide Family Court Liaison Unit. Mike currently serves as the Vice Chairperson of the Commission’s Racial Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee, serves on the AAICAMA Executive Board as member at large, and previously served on the AAICPC Executive Committee as member at large.


First Name Last Name Commission Title Office Email User Profile
Lisa Bjergaard Lisa Bjergaard Commissioner / Compact Administrator North Dakota lbjergaa@nd.gov User Profile
Felicia Dauway Felicia Dauway Deputy Compact Administrator/Designee South Carolina InterstateCompact@djj.sc.gov User Profile
Charles Frieberg Charles Frieberg Commissioner / Compact Administrator South Dakota sd.compact@ujs.state.sd.us User Profile
Kimberly Heywood Staff - Program Coordinator Utah icjutah@utcourts.gov User Profile
Ashley Hodges Staff - Compact Office Kentucky DJJKentuckyInterstate@ky.gov User Profile
Tasha Hunt Tasha Hunt Commissioner / Compact Administrator Connecticut Tasha.Hunt@jud.ct.gov User Profile
Brooke Montelongo Commissioner (Primary Contact) Colorado brooke.montelongo@state.co.us User Profile
Teecara Richardson Compact Specialist - A-M (QPRs all matters concerning QPRs), Record checks, back-up Sex Offender matters Florida interstatecompact2@fldjj.gov User Profile
April Simmons Interstate Compact Specialist - Outgoing Cases Indiana April.Simmons@courts.in.gov User Profile
Rhonda Turner Deputy Compact Administrator - Sprvsn Cases/Extradition Cases N-Z Florida interstatecompact2@fldjj.gov User Profile
Abbye Tyler Staff - Management Associate - Receiving Cases and Travel Permits Maryland Abbye.Tyler@maryland.gov User Profile
Jessica Wald Jessica Wald Deputy Compact Administrator / Designee North Dakota jlwald@nd.gov User Profile