Rules Committee

The Rules Committee provides oversight and guidance regarding proposed rule amendments throughout the ICJ rule-making process.  The Rules Committee is responsible for administering the Commission’s rule-making process, drafting proposed rule amendments and considering proposed rule amendments from other committees and regions.  The Rules Committee ensures the rule amendments are properly formatted and include adequate justifications. 

Membership is limited to 2-3 members from each of the four regions.  The members update their respective region on the activities of the committee at the regional meetings.   In odd numbered years (such as 2023), members meet face-to-face to review comments and finalize recommendations. Members also participate in the presentation at the Annual Business Meeting.  This is the only committee that operates on a 2-year cycle. 

View the current Rules Committee Calendar which highlights rule proposal deadlines. 

Learn more about the ICJ Rules promulgation process. 

2022 - 2023 Meeting Dates:

November 2, 2022 at 2:00 pm ET
December 7, 2022 at 2:00 pm ET - meeting cancelled
January 4, 2023 at 2:00 pm ET - meeting cancelled 
February 1, 2023 at 2:00 pm ET
March 1, 2023 at 2:00 pm ET
April 5, 2023 at 2:00 pm ET
May 16, 2023 - Face-to-Face Meeting
July 12, 2023 at 2:00 pm ET
August 2, 2023 at 2:00 pm ET


Stephen Horton

Commissioner, Rules Committee Chair, North Carolina


Stephen Horton is the Commissioner for North Carolina and the Deputy Compact Administrator for the North Carolina ICJ office with the NC Department of Public Safety; Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice. He has served as DCA since 2014. He has over ten years of service with the North Carolina ICJ office. He obtained his bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice from Appalachian State University in 1996. He began his career with North Carolina State government over twenty years ago and has worked as a Court Counselor, Court Counselor Supervisor, and as a Staff Development Specialist. Stephen is an (adjunct) General Instructor for North Carolina and holds Specialized Instructor certifications in Restraint, Control, and Defensive Tactics (self-defense), Wellness and Fitness, and First Aid/ CPR. He has also served on  a number of different ICJ committees within the Commission and is a current member to the Rules Committee.

Vice Chair

Caitlyn Bickford

Commissioner, Deputy Compact Administrator, UNITY Coordinator, Regional Representative, New Hampshire



First Name Last Name Commission Title Office Email User Profile
Dawn Bailey Dawn Bailey Designee/Compact Administrator Washington User Profile
Trissie Casanova Trissie Casanova Designee / Deputy Compact Administrator Vermont User Profile
Michael Farmer Michael Farmer Designee / Deputy Compact Administrator - Returns California User Profile
Raymundo Gallardo Raymundo Gallardo Deputy Compact Administrator/Designee Utah User Profile
Julie Hawkins Julie Hawkins Commissioner / Deputy Compact Administrator Missouri User Profile
Tracy Hudrlik Tracy Hudrlik Commissioner Minnesota User Profile
Jennifer LeBaron Jennifer LeBaron Commissioner / Compact Administrator New Jersey User Profile
Edwin Lee Jr Edwin Lee Jr Designee New Jersey User Profile
Judy Miller Judy Miller Designee/Deputy Compact Administrator Arkansas User Profile
Kelly Palmateer Kelly Palmateer Deputy Compact Administrator - Interstate Unit Manager New York User Profile
Jedd Pelander Jedd Pelander Commissioner Washington User Profile
Michael Tymkew Commissioner Michigan User Profile
Nita Wright Deputy Compact Administrator / Sex Offenders, Runaways/Returns Indiana User Profile
Howard Wykes Designee/Deputy Compact Administrator Arizona User Profile